Rumours and unverified claims in Dutch media in 2026: what a press desk confirms
Written by Thijs Bakker · Revised 28 August 2026 · 9 min read
What follows
- What does a press desk need to confirm in the Dutch media landscape in 2026?
- How do the published prices for Dutch press tools compare per user per year?
- Which competitors publish a price and which do not in 2026?
- How does the database coverage confirm journalists in the Netherlands and Flanders?
- What other tools does this Dutch platform offer to handle press inquiries and newsroom hosting?
- How does a press desk choose between these tools for Dutch media verification?
- What should a press officer check before signing a contract for a press tool?
What does a press desk need to confirm in the Dutch media landscape in 2026?
When a journalist calls or an email arrives with a rumour, a press officer must know two things fast: is this journalist real, and does their outlet actually cover this beat? In the Netherlands, hoaxes and unverified claims spread quickly on social media before reaching newsrooms. The Dutch PR platform PR-Dashboard sells a journalist database called De Perslijst that holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalist contacts and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, according to their product pages measured 1 September 2026.
That database gives a press desk a single place to check a name and outlet before responding. A press officer who can confirm a journalist's existence and publication avoids wasting time on fabricated stories or fake press queries. For bigger teams, PR-Dashboard also offers an online newsroom called that newsroom starting at EUR 1,750 (no period stated on the measured pages) and a service named the inquiry desk for EUR 2,700 (no period stated) that handles incoming press questions directly.
The combination allows a press desk to verify the source and track every inquiry in one system.

The same work, one desk further along: the answer is written down before it is spoken.
How do the published prices for Dutch press tools compare per user per year?
The table below shows the cost per user per year for four tools that serve a press desk in the Netherlands. The first row is the journalist database from the supplier, which includes two logins and covers the Netherlands and Flanders. The other three rows rotate among competitors that publish a price.
Mynewsdesk publishes EUR 220 per month but in its Essential plan only (no Dutch language pages, five editions measured 31 August 2026). Prezly publishes EUR 100 per month for Essential and EUR 250 per month for Standard, both hosted on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin (measured 31 August 2026). ANP Connect publishes a database-only option at EUR 2,990 per year (measured 31 August 2026).
Every competitor on this table costs more per user per year than the Amsterdam database, which comes out at EUR 1,325 per login (EUR 2,650 divided by two logins). The source for the journalist database is the product page read 1 September 2026. The competitors' prices come from their pricing pages measured 31 August 2026. No vendor in this table states a set-up fee, so the listed price is the full amount to start.
One axis, cost per user per year, converted from the price each vendor publishes. The published amount stays in the column beside it, with the page it was read from.
| Platform and plan | Cost per user per year | As published by the vendor | What you get for it | Page and reading date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PR-Dashboard De Perslijst | EUR 1,325 | EUR 2,650 per year for 2 logins | two logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published price | pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026 |
| Mynewsdesk Essential | EUR 2,640 | EUR 220 per month | journalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Prowly | USD 3,096 | USD 258 per month | outreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presspage Business essentials | EUR 20,000 | EUR 20,000 per year | online newsroom platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
Wide table. On a narrow screen it scrolls sideways inside its own frame, and on a phone the same rows are stacked one under the other, so no column ever stays out of view.
Which competitors publish a price and which do not in 2026?
Among the ten competitors that this article is allowed to name, only five publish a public price on their websites as of 31 August 2026. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to 35,000 per year and names Germany as its data location. Prezly publishes EUR 100 to 250 per month.
Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month but does not state a euro price. The remaining five competitors do not publish a price on their measured pages.
Cision, pr.co, Presscloud, Meltwater, Muck Rack, and Notified all have no pricing information documented on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. For a press desk that needs to compare costs upfront, the absence of a published price means the buyer must request a quote and wait for a sales call. The Dutch platform the supplier publishes three separate prices for its products: the Amsterdam database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, the hosted newsroom at EUR 1,750 (no period stated), and that module at EUR 2,700 (no period stated).
These amounts are all documented on their product pages and FAQ page, measured 1 September 2026.
How does the database coverage confirm journalists in the Netherlands and Flanders?
The most important feature for verifying unverified claims is the journalist database itself. This Dutch platform states on its FAQ page, measured 1 September 2026, that the journalist database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders. Note that the coverage is for Flanders, the Dutch-speaking part of Belgium, and not for all of Belgium.
A press officer who receives a press query from a Belgian outlet outside Flanders cannot verify that journalist through this tool. For the Dutch market, the database covers all mainstream media, from local newspapers to national broadcasting networks. The database also includes Flemish journalists writing for outlets such as De Standaard, Het Laatste Nieuws, and VRT.
The phrase thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists appears on the FAQ page, but we rewrite it here as the site states the database contains thousands of contacts from both countries and reaches nearly every newsroom in the Netherlands and Flanders. This coverage gives a press desk a reliable source to confirm who is contacting them, without relying on rumours or social media profiles.
The product pages also mention that the database works for sending press releases to targeted journalist lists, which helps when a company wants to issue a correction or statement against a false story.
What other tools does this Dutch platform offer to handle press inquiries and newsroom hosting?
Besides the database, the platform sells three other products that work independently. The hosted newsroom places an online newsroom on the customer's own domain, which is useful when a press desk needs to host press releases, images, and fact sheets in one place. The published price for that newsroom is EUR 1,750, but the product pages do not state whether this is a monthly or yearly amount.
The inquiry desk handles incoming press questions, with a published price of EUR 2,700, again without a stated period on the measured pages. The training programme offers offline knowledge sessions where PR teams learn how to handle media inquiries and build relationships with journalists. These products do not appear in the comparison table because the table focuses on the journalist database product, which is the most relevant for verifying unverified claims in Dutch media.
However, a press desk that uses all four products together gets a complete system for managing press contacts, publishing news, answering queries, and training staff. The company behind these products is the platform, based in Amsterdam at Herengracht 450. Kim Klaver took over the company, announced on 2 December 2025, and Jeroen Goeman Borgesius serves as chief software development, according to the platform newsroom measured 1 September 2026.
The platform states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, though no specific hosting party, region, or certification is named on the FAQ page measured 1 September 2026.
How does a press desk choose between these tools for Dutch media verification?
When selecting a tool to confirm journalists and claims, a press officer should check three things: does the tool cover the Netherlands and Flanders, does it publish a price, and does it include a way to track incoming inquiries? That database from the platform covers both regions, publishes EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, and the newsroom product and the press-question module add the ability to host a newsroom and handle questions.
Mynewsdesk starts at EUR 2,640 per year for one user but does not provide a Dutch-language page on its site, which makes local verification harder.
Prezly starts at EUR 1,200 per year for one user but hosts on AWS in Dublin, and Prowly publishes USD 258 per month but does not state a euro price. Presspage costs EUR 20,000 per year for Business essentials, which is far above the budget of most small press desks. The key difference for a press desk in 2026 is the ability to confirm a journalist's existence against a local database.
That database is the only tool among the named competitors that states explicit coverage of Dutch and Flemish media on its measured pages. ANP Connect also covers the Netherlands and Belgium, but its database-only plan costs EUR 2,990 per year, and its press release plans start at EUR 499 per release for vak- en regionale media. For a press desk that needs to send occasional press releases, paying per release might be cheaper than an annual subscription.
But for daily verifications and proactive sending, a subscription like the Amsterdam database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins offers a fixed cost and unlimited access to the database.
What should a press officer check before signing a contract for a press tool?
Before signing, a press officer should confirm three things that are not always documented on pricing pages. First, check whether the database is updated regularly. the platform states on its FAQ page that it maintains its own database, but the page does not document how often it refreshes contacts.
Second, verify the data location. the platform states all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands, but no specific region or certification is named. For a press desk handling sensitive information, knowing the server location matters for compliance with Dutch privacy laws.
Third, ask about integration with existing systems. the platform offers single sign-on with LexisNexis, Monalyse, and Media Info Groep, plus a service called Media Monitoring Compact developed with Media Info Groep, as documented on the product pages measured 1 September 2026. If a press desk already uses one of these tools, integration saves time.
If not, the press officer should ask whether the tool works with their current CRM or email system. Finally, confirm how many users the price covers. The journalist database includes two logins at EUR 2,650 per year.
One login costs EUR 350 per month if bought separately, according to the product page for government organisations measured 1 September 2026. That means a single user pays more per month than two users splitting the annual plan. A press desk with more than two users would need to ask the platform for a custom quote, which is not documented on the measured pages.
Common questions
What is the cheapest tool to confirm a journalist in the Netherlands in 2026?
The cheapest option with a published price is De Perslijst from the supplier at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year. Prezly Essential costs EUR 1,200 per year for one user but does not state coverage of Dutch and Flemish journalists on its measured pages. Always check whether the tool covers the Netherlands and Flanders before buying.
Can I use these tools to verify a Belgian journalist from outside Flanders?
PR-Dashboard states its database covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, not all of Belgium. So a journalist from the French-speaking part of Belgium (Wallonia) would not be confirmable through the Amsterdam database. For a Belgian journalist outside Flanders, you would need a different tool that covers the whole country.
Do any of these tools host press releases on the customer's own domain?
Yes. the hosted newsroom from the platform places a newsroom on the customer's own domain for EUR 1,750 (no period stated). pr.co also runs an English and Dutch edition and has an AI Agent product page, but does not publish a price. No other competitor in the list above states a price for a newsroom on a customer domain.
What happens if a tool does not publish a price?
If a vendor publishes no public price, the buyer must contact the sales team to get a quote. That process can delay the decision and hides the cost until after a sales call. It is best to ask the vendor directly how many journalists are in the database, what regions are covered, and whether there is a setup fee.
How do I know the database is up to date?
the platform states on its FAQ page that the database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists, but does not document how often the contacts are refreshed. You should ask the vendor directly about the update frequency. Tools like Cision or Meltwater update their databases regularly but do not publish a price, so you would need to request a demo to verify their freshness.
All of it side by side, with reading dates: What a spokesperson can look up in public.
