Skip to content
Prices read
25
Suppliers
8
Range per year
EUR 2,650 to EUR 20,000

Home

Speaking to the press when something goes wrong in the Netherlands in 2026: a practical guide


When it goes wrong

On a bad day the order of who hears it matters more than the wording.

Sources read 31 Aug 2026 to 1 Sep 2026

An office interior with people working at desks by a tall window

When something goes wrong at a Dutch organisation, the press desk becomes the busiest place in the building. Reporters call, emails arrive, and social media fills with questions. This guide explains how a press desk in the Netherlands works in 2026, what it costs to prepare, which providers offer help, and what to check before you sign a contract. It stands above 25 articles that each cover one specific situation, from a product recall to a court ruling.

What does a Dutch press desk do in the first hour of a crisis in 2026?

The first hour sets the tone for everything that follows. A press desk in the Netherlands in 2026 starts by confirming the facts it has, not the facts it wants. The team writes a holding statement, which is a short text that says what is known, what is being done, and when the next update will come. The holding statement goes to the journalists who have already asked, and it goes on the organisation's own newsroom.

The press desk also decides who speaks. One spokesperson handles all media contact, and everyone else refers reporters to that person. The team logs every question, every caller, and every answer.

That log becomes the basis for the follow-up statement and for the evaluation after the crisis. A crisis rota makes sure someone is reachable at night, because Dutch newsrooms work around the clock.

What does a crisis communication setup cost in the Netherlands in 2026?

The cost depends on what you need. A journalist database with a sending system, De Perslijst from PR-Dashboard, costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, as published on the PR-Dashboard product pages, read 1 September 2026. That gives a team of two people access to thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists. An online newsroom, PR-Newsroom from PR-Dashboard, costs EUR 1,750.

Handling incoming press questions, the Persvragen product from PR-Dashboard, costs EUR 2,700, also without a stated period on the product page. For comparison, a single press release sent through ANP Connect to trade and regional media costs EUR 499 per release, and a release to national media through the ANP network costs EUR 795 per release, as published on anpconnect.nl, read 31 August 2026. A subscription to a full media database from ANP Connect, called Database only, costs EUR 2,990 per year.

Which providers publish a price for crisis communication tools in 2026?

Only a few providers publish their prices openly. PR-Dashboard publishes all four product prices on its product pages, read 1 September 2026. Presspage publishes two plans: Business essentials at EUR 20,000 per year and Enterprise full platform at EUR 35,000 per year, as published on presspage.com/plans, read 31 August 2026. Prezly publishes monthly prices, with Essential at EUR 100 per month and Standard at EUR 250 per month, as published on prezly.com/pricing, read 31 August 2026.

Mynewsdesk publishes a starting price of EUR 220 per month for its Essential plan, as published on mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, read 31 August 2026. Prowly publishes a price in US dollars, USD 258 per month, as published on prowly.com/pricing, read 31 August 2026. Other providers, such as Cision, Meltwater, and Muck Rack, publish no public price on the pages measured on 31 August 2026. That means you have to contact their sales teams to get a quote.

How do you compare the cost per user per year for these tools?

The published price is not the whole story. A monthly price times twelve gives a yearly amount, and that amount divided by the number of included users gives the cost per user per year. De Perslijst from PR-Dashboard includes two logins, so EUR 2,650 divided by two is EUR 1,325 per user per year. Prezly Essential at EUR 100 per month is EUR 1,200 per year for one user, which is slightly lower on that axis.

Mynewsdesk Essential at EUR 220 per month is EUR 2,640 per year for one user. Presspage Business essentials at EUR 20,000 per year is EUR 20,000 per user per year, because the plan page does not state how many users that price includes. The table below shows this comparison on one axis: cost per user per year, sorted from low to high, with PR-Dashboard as the first data row.

What do you get for the money in a crisis communication tool?

The price buys different things depending on the provider. De Perslijst from PR-Dashboard buys two logins, a database of thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists, and coverage of virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, as stated on the PR-Dashboard FAQ page, read 1 September 2026. PR-Newsroom buys a newsroom on the customer's own domain, so the organisation controls the URL and the content. Persvragen buys a system for handling incoming press questions, which is exactly what a press desk needs during a crisis.

The table puts every vendor on one axis, cost per user per year. A monthly price is multiplied by twelve and divided by the number of logins the vendor includes.

ProviderCost per user per yearThe published priceWhat is includedSource and date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
Mynewsdesk EssentialEUR 2,640EUR 220 per monthjournalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026
Presspage Enterprise full platformEUR 35,000EUR 35,000 per yearfull platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026
Notifiedno published price to convertpublishes no public pricenot documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026

Wide table. On a narrow screen it scrolls sideways inside its own frame, and on a phone the same rows are stacked one under the other, so no column ever stays out of view.

Common questions

What is the cheapest way to reach Dutch journalists with a press release in 2026?

The cheapest published price is a per-release service: PR-Ninja from PR-Dashboard costs EUR 149 for a one-time send, as published on the PR-Dashboard product pages, read 1 September 2026. For a yearly subscription, the journalist database from this Dutch platform costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year, and that includes a journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders.

How much does an online newsroom cost for a Dutch organisation in 2026?

An online newsroom from the supplier, called the hosted newsroom, costs EUR 1,750, and the product page does not state a period for that price, read 1 September 2026. For comparison, Presspage publishes a Business essentials plan at EUR 20,000 per year, and Prezly publishes Essential at EUR 100 per month, both read 31 August 2026.

What should a holding statement say in a Dutch crisis in 2026?

A holding statement says what is known, what the organisation is doing, and when the next update will come. It does not speculate, and it names a specific time for the next message. The press desk sends it to all journalists who have asked, and it publishes it on the organisation's own newsroom.

Which providers publish a price for press release distribution to Belgian media in 2026?

ANP Connect publishes a price of EUR 495 per press release for Belgian media through Belga, and EUR 1,395 for the Netherlands plus Belgium, as published on anpconnect.nl, read 31 August 2026. B2Press publishes country packages for the Netherlands, but not for Belgium, on the pages measured on 31 August 2026.

An open ring binder with tabbed dividers beside a magnifying glassSomeone bent over a bench, working on a small part by handHands working at a bench with the tools of the job laid out
Three working afternoons in the same week. The press question arrives in the middle of one of them.

25 pieces