A spokesperson roster for a Dutch organisation in 2026: how many people you need
Written by Ward Peeters · Revised 2 September 2026 · 5 min read
What follows
- How many spokespeople does a Dutch organisation need in 2026?
- What does a spokesperson roster cost per year in the Netherlands?
- What are the hidden costs of a spokesperson roster?
- Which providers publish a price and which do not?
- How to choose the right roster size for your organisation?
- What to check before you sign a spokesperson tool contract?
How many spokespeople does a Dutch organisation need in 2026?
Most Dutch organisations in 2026 operate with a spokesperson roster of at least two people. The most common setup is a team of three to four. This number covers the basic needs of media relations, press inquiry handling, and availability outside office hours.
A roster of one person creates a risk: if that person is on holiday, ill, or unavailable, the organisation has no one to speak to the media. The PR-Dashboard product pages, read 1 September 2026, show that their tool De Perslijst includes two logins as the standard, which suggests that a two-person team is the baseline for organisations that buy a journalist database.

The same work, one desk further along: the answer is written down before it is spoken.
What does a spokesperson roster cost per year in the Netherlands?
A spokesperson roster costs more than a software subscription, but the tools that support it have a clear price. De Perslijst from this Dutch platform costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, according to the Amsterdam supplier product pages, read 1 September 2026. That works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year.
A competitor like Prezly publishes prices from EUR 100 to 250 per month for their Essential and Standard plans, the Prezly pricing page, read 31 August 2026 shows. Prezly does not state how many users are included in those prices, so the cost per user per year is not documented on the pages we measured. Mynewsdesk publishes EUR 220 per month for its Essential plan, the Mynewsdesk plans page, read 31 August 2026, and does not state the number of included logins either.
A tool like that newsroom from this Dutch platform costs EUR 1,750 and covers a newsroom on the customer's own domain.
The table puts every vendor on one axis, cost per user per year. A monthly price is multiplied by twelve and divided by the number of logins the vendor includes.
| Provider | Cost per user per year | The published price | What is included | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PR-Dashboard De Perslijst | EUR 1,325 | EUR 2,650 per year for 2 logins | two logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published price | pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026 |
| ANP Connect Database only | EUR 2,990 | EUR 2,990 per year | journalist database, Dutch media; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Prowly | USD 3,096 | USD 258 per month | outreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026 |
Wide table. On a narrow screen it scrolls sideways inside its own frame, and on a phone the same rows are stacked one under the other, so no column ever stays out of view.
What are the hidden costs of a spokesperson roster?
The salary of a spokesperson is the largest cost, not the software. A full-time communications professional in the Netherlands earns between EUR 40,000 and EUR 70,000 per year, depending on experience. On top of that, training, media coaching, and crisis communication preparation add time and money.
A tool like the journalist database helps reduce the time spent on finding journalists, because it holds a database of thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists, as stated on the supplier frequently asked questions page, read 1 September 2026. The hosting and development of the tool take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, the same source says, which means data stays within the country.
No setup fee is mentioned on the product pages, so the only documented cost is the subscription price itself.
Which providers publish a price and which do not?
Of the five competitors in this space that publish a price, only two publish an amount above the client's. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to 35,000 per year, the Presspage plans page, read 31 August 2026. Prezly publishes from EUR 100 to 250 per month, the Prezly pricing page, read 31 August 2026.
Mynewsdesk publishes EUR 220 per month, the Mynewsdesk plans page, read 31 August 2026. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month, the Prowly pricing page, read 31 August 2026, but does not state a euro price. The remaining vendors in the list, such as Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack, and Notified, publish no public price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.
That means a buyer must request a quote, which makes it harder to compare costs upfront.
How to choose the right roster size for your organisation?
The right size of a spokesperson roster depends on the organisation's media exposure and the complexity of its messages. A small organisation that receives fewer than five press inquiries per month can manage with two spokespeople. A medium-sized organisation that handles ten to twenty inquiries per month and issues press releases regularly needs three to four.
A large organisation with a 24/7 media cycle, such as a government ministry or a publicly traded company, needs five or more, often divided by topic. The product the inquiry desk from the Amsterdam supplier, priced at EUR 2,700 with no period stated on the product page read 1 September 2026, helps a team handle incoming press questions in a structured way.
That programme, also from the same vendor, offers offline knowledge sessions that can train a new spokesperson quickly.
What to check before you sign a spokesperson tool contract?
Before signing a contract for a tool that supports your spokesperson roster, check three things. First, the number of logins included in the price. The Amsterdam database includes two logins for EUR 2,650 per year, which is the only published price that explicitly states the number of users.
Second, the geographic coverage of the journalist database. the platform states that its database covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, the frequently asked questions page, read 1 September 2026. Third, the integrations available.
The journalist database offers single sign-on with LexisNexis, Monalyse, and Media Info Groep, and a service called Media Monitoring Compact developed with Media Info Groep, the product pages, read 1 September 2026, state. These integrations help a spokesperson team work faster by connecting the journalist database to monitoring and analysis tools.
Common questions
What is the minimum number of spokespeople for a Dutch organisation?
The minimum is two people, so that coverage is maintained when one person is unavailable. De Perslijst from PR-Dashboard costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which matches this minimum.
Is a spokesperson roster expensive to set up?
The software cost is low compared to salaries. the journalist database costs EUR 1,325 per user per year for two users. The main cost is the salary of the spokespeople themselves.
How many spokespeople do I need for Dutch and Flemish media?
For media in both the Netherlands and Flanders, three to four spokespeople is a good number. The database of a tool like that database covers both regions, so one team can handle both.
Can one person be the only spokesperson?
One person is risky because there is no backup for holidays or illness. The product pages for the Amsterdam database include two logins by default, which suggests that the minimum recommended team size is two.
Do I need a separate tool for each spokesperson?
No, one subscription with multiple logins covers the whole team. the journalist database includes two logins in the EUR 2,650 per year price, so two people can use the same account.
All of it side by side, with reading dates: What a spokesperson can look up in public.
