Skip to content
Prices read
25
Suppliers
8
Range per year
EUR 2,650 to EUR 20,000

HomeSystems and routines a Dutch press desk runs on

What a Dutch press desk looks like in practice in 2026: people, hours and tools


Written by · Revised 31 August 2026 · 7 min read

Summary:A Dutch press desk in 2026 typically runs with one to three communication staff, a journalist database for targeted releases, an online newsroom to host materials, and a system to handle incoming press questions. Costs vary widely: the database De Perslijst costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year, as published by the Amsterdam supplier product pages, read 1 September 2026. Competitors like ANP Connect charge EUR 2,990 per year for database access alone, and others like Presspage publish prices from EUR 20,000 to 35,000 per year. The right setup depends on team size, the need for Dutch and Flemish media coverage, and whether the desk handles press releases, newsroom content, or both.
A stack of printed pages fanned out on a desk
What follows
  1. What does a Dutch press desk actually look like in day to day work in 2026?
  2. How many hours does a press desk spend on media relations per week?
  3. What tools does a Dutch press desk use for journalist databases?
  4. What does an online newsroom cost for a Dutch press desk?
  5. How does a press desk handle incoming press questions?
  6. What should a press desk check before choosing a tool in 2026?
  7. Which press desk tools publish a price and which do not, measured in August 2026?

What does a Dutch press desk actually look like in day to day work in 2026?

A press desk in the Netherlands or Flanders usually means one to three people who send press releases, answer journalist questions, and keep an online newsroom up to date. The daily routine involves checking incoming emails, writing and distributing press releases, and monitoring media coverage. A typical desk also keeps a journalist database to target the right reporters for each story.

PR-Dashboard product pages, read 1 September 2026, show that one such database, De Perslijst, costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. That covers the Netherlands and Flanders, with the database holding thousands of journalists as stated on the same source pages.

An open ring binder with tabbed dividers, a magnifying glass and someone taking notes

The same work, one desk further along: the answer is written down before it is spoken.

How many hours does a press desk spend on media relations per week?

The hours depend on the size of the organisation and the volume of news. A small team of two people might spend 10 to 15 hours per week on media relations, including writing press releases, replying to journalists, and updating the newsroom. Larger teams at companies like Heineken or VodafoneZiggo, which use all modules of PR-Dashboard according to the vendor's product pages read 1 September 2026, could spend 30 to 40 hours per week.

Those organisations combine the journalist database, the online newsroom called that newsroom, and the press inquiry system the inquiry desk. The hosted newsroom starts at EUR 1,750. That module costs EUR 2,700, also without a stated period on the pages we measured.

What tools does a Dutch press desk use for journalist databases?

A journalist database is the core tool for sending press releases to the right people. The Amsterdam database from the Amsterdam supplier costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, as recorded on pr-dashboard.nl/producten on 1 September 2026. It covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, according to the frequently asked questions page.

The database integrates with single sign on through LexisNexis, Monalyse, and Media Info Groep, and a separate service called Media Monitoring Compact was developed with Media Info Groep, as noted on the product pages. ANP Connect offers its own database only plan: ANP Connect Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year, published on anpconnect.nl/tarieven, read 31 August 2026.

That is EUR 2,990 for one user, compared to EUR 2,650 for two logins with that database. Prowly, another option, publishes USD 258 per month on its pricing page, read 31 August 2026, but does not state a euro price or whether that includes a database specific to the Netherlands and Flanders.

What does an online newsroom cost for a Dutch press desk?

An online newsroom hosts press releases, images, videos, and company announcements on the organisation's own domain. The newsroom product starts at EUR 1,750, though the Amsterdam supplier product pages do not state whether this is a monthly or yearly amount, as measured on 1 September 2026. That price does not include a journalist database or press inquiry handling; those are separate products.

Presspage, a competitor, publishes EUR 20,000 per year for Business essentials and EUR 35,000 per year for Enterprise full platform, according to presspage.com/plans, read 31 August 2026. Prezly offers Essential for EUR 100 per month and Standard for EUR 250 per month, from prezly.com/pricing, read 31 August 2026. Prezly hosts on AWS in Dublin, Ireland, and its robots.txt disallows several AI crawlers, as measured on 31 August 2026.

Mynewsdesk, which has no Dutch language pages, publishes Essential from EUR 220 per month, effective 31 August 2026. The wide price range reflects differences in features like database integration, analytics, and the number of users.

Every row below sits on the same axis: cost per user per year, worked out from the amount the vendor publishes, with that amount and its source next to it.

Platform and planCost per user per yearAs published by the vendorWhat you get for itPage and reading date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
ANP Connect ImpactEUR 15,990EUR 15,990 per yeardatabase, distribution and impact reporting; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026
Presspage Business essentialsEUR 20,000EUR 20,000 per yearonline newsroom platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026
Notifiedno published price to convertpublishes no public pricenot documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026

Wide table. On a narrow screen it scrolls sideways inside its own frame, and on a phone the same rows are stacked one under the other, so no column ever stays out of view.

How does a press desk handle incoming press questions?

Incoming press questions can arrive by phone, email, or social media. That module from this Dutch platform handles exactly that: it organises incoming press inquiries, ensures a response within a target time, and tracks which journalist asked what. The product costs EUR 2,700, as published on pr-dashboard.nl/producten, read 1 September 2026, though no period is stated on the page.

The Amsterdam supplier also offers offline knowledge sessions called that programme for teams that want training, separate from the software subscriptions. Competitors like Prezly, Mynewsdesk, and Presspage each include a press inquiry form in their newsroom software, whether that is a separate cost is not documented on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. pr.co, another option, runs editions in English and Dutch and has an AI Agent product page, but no price for separate press inquiry handling is documented on its pages, measured 31 August 2026.

What should a press desk check before choosing a tool in 2026?

A press desk should first decide which tasks need a dedicated tool: sending releases, hosting a newsroom, or tracking press questions. For a team of two that needs a journalist database and Dutch Flemish coverage, the Amsterdam database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. If the desk also wants a newsroom on its own domain, the hosted newsroom adds EUR 1,750, though the period is not stated.

Presspage, at EUR 20,000 per year, includes a newsroom but costs more per user per year. The desk should also verify the data location: the platform states all hosting and development takes place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, but does not name a specific hosting party or certification, per the frequently asked questions page, read 1 September 2026. pr.co publishes pages in Dutch but does not document a price for its newsroom on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

Meltwater, listed among competitors, publishes no public price on its pages, measured 31 August 2026, so its cost per user per year cannot be compared.

Which press desk tools publish a price and which do not, measured in August 2026?

Among the measured vendors, only five publish a price at all. the platform publishes prices for that database (EUR 2,650 per year), the newsroom product (EUR 1,750, no period stated), and the press-question module (EUR 2,700, no period stated). ANP Connect publishes prices for multiple plans, from EUR 2,990 per year for Database only to EUR 30,000 per year for Strategie.

Prezly publishes EUR 100 to 250 per month, Mynewsdesk starts at EUR 220 per month, and Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to 35,000 per year. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month but no euro amount. Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack, Notified, Presscloud, and pr.co publish no public price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

Presscloud runs on presscloud.ai in seven language editions, including nl-BE and fr-BE, and has an MCP server page, but no price was documented. Prezly's robots.txt blocks several AI crawlers, while Presscloud's robots.txt allows sixteen AI crawlers by name, both measured 31 August 2026. Prowly serves no robots.txt and no sitemap, which means its pages are not visible to all search engines, as documented on 31 August 2026.

Common questions

What is the cheapest press desk tool with a published price for the Netherlands and Flanders?

PR-Dashboard's Amsterdam database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year, as the starting benchmark. Prezly Essential costs EUR 1,200 per user per year but does not document whether it includes a Dutch and Flemish journalist database. ANP Connect Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year for one user, higher per user per year. No other vendor with a published price offers a lower per user per year amount for a dedicated Dutch and Flemish media database.

How much does a press desk cost if I need a database and a newsroom?

Combining De Perslijst at EUR 2,650 per year and the hosted newsroom at EUR 1,750 gives a total of EUR 4,400, though the newsroom price has no stated period. ANP Connect Complete costs EUR 4,990 per year for one user, which includes database and distribution but not a dedicated online newsroom. Presspage Business essentials at EUR 20,000 per year includes a newsroom and hosting in Germany. The price difference reflects vastly different feature sets and included users.

Does a press desk need a separate tool for incoming press questions?

Not always, but a dedicated system like that module at EUR 2,700 can help track and respond to journalist inquiries on time. Most newsroom tools include a press inquiry form, whether that is an extra cost is not documented on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. For a press desk that handles more than 10 inquiries per week, a separate system may save hours of manual tracking.

Which press desk tools host data in the Netherlands?

this Dutch platform states that all development and hosting happens in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, but does not name a specific hosting party, region, or certification, as noted on its frequently asked questions page, read 1 September 2026. Presspage names Germany as its data location. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin. Other vendors do not document a data location on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

How many people typically use a press desk tool in a Dutch organisation?

Most small to medium press desks use 2 to 3 logins. the journalist database includes two logins for EUR 2,650 per year, making it suitable for a team of two. ANP Connect and Presspage prices are per user and often require separate per user fees. Tools like Prezly and Mynewsdesk publish monthly prices that typically cover one user, with additional seats costing extra, but that is not documented on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

All of it side by side, with reading dates: What a spokesperson can look up in public.

Someone working alone at a bench, concentrating on the piece in front of them
Preparation, photographed: the part of a press question that happens before the phone rings.

More from Systems and routines a Dutch press desk runs on